Alphabet Soup Minuscule

J.C. Scheff

The Fruit We Plant.


Somewhere, in the nights silence. 

In your soft breathing,
Your chest rising up and down with the turning of the fan.

I look to the left of me and all I see is the dead tops of trees.
To the right of me, the freckles on your back.

I plant small kisses on them.
Like a bright eyed child with a handful of seeds and her knees in the soil.
Waiting for the first strip of green.
 Except,
I always end up with the backs of things.

Things that are beautiful and vibrant for awhile
But, they age and become less enticing. And,
I worry I become too much.
Not enough.

Yet, my eyes sparkle.
And my thighs are sturdy,
My heart strong.
Strong amongst wandering minds.

Yet, I know the seeds will grow as long as we feed them.
As long as we love them.
In turn, the fruit we plant,
Will feed us and I can lick the juices from your lips.
As you taste what we have made from our hands.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Fruit We Plant.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Taps and Ratamacues

A site for poetry and other stuff

Macclesfield Antiques

Not a dealer - downsizing and have some spare antiques

WJHL

Breaking news| Johnson City, TN | Kingsport, TN| Bristol, TN| Bristol, VA| Tri-Citiies Weather

The Müscleheaded Blog

"Nothing Exceeds Like Superfluous Jejunity "

