Alphabet Soup Minuscule

J.C. Scheff

Breathing Songs


As we drove amonsgt the cemetary plots. I pondered this life before me. This sweet breath that touches my lips.The same breath I breathed into yours.

As you cup those parts of me in tight,
And seal the lid.
Outside, and a few spots north, a for sale sign sits crooked, outside the UAW.

 It is here, it is now, I feel the fall of our unions. Silence can be such a foreign noise. To be alone with your thoughts so long. This surely  signaled something bad.

Then he messaged me deeply. Something my aloneness and thoughts hadnt pondered yet.

Something that brought sound to this quiet. This void inside me.
He wrote,”Sunset is a feeling..not a color”

Suddenly, I felt it’s warmth. His warmth. I tilt my head back, breathing songs of orange and pink. I know that,
It’s never truly dark until we close our eyes. Yet, we live our lives with them shut.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Breathing Songs

  1. I like this a lot, Joelly. I would never have thought of silence to be a foreign noise, but it is so true. Well said. I would have gone a completely different direction with the sentence I gave you, which is one of the reasons I love this. It offers a lot of insight into who you are as a writer and helps me appreciate that we all have our own voice. There are some great lines in here.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Taps and Ratamacues

A site for poetry and other stuff

Macclesfield Antiques

Not a dealer - downsizing and have some spare antiques

WJHL

Breaking news| Johnson City, TN | Kingsport, TN| Bristol, TN| Bristol, VA| Tri-Citiies Weather

The Müscleheaded Blog

"Nothing Exceeds Like Superfluous Jejunity "

