Alphabet Soup Minuscule

J.C. Scheff

Acquiesce


I can forget your olive skin, or

The way you frowned when you were thinking hard thoughts.

The kind of thoughts you held inside deep.
The ones you always backspaced, left unsaid because it was safer.

I can dismiss the way I felt in your arms, even though brief, like an occasional windy afternoon.
We were hung tight like sheets on a clothesline.

Our fingers, clothespins.
Yet, you continued to snap under the pressure.

The springs within you not strong enough to carry the weight of me.
So, you let the draft carry me away.
And I took with it, my scent, my compassion and acceptance for new heights.

I cannot repudiate the regret for having tried and tried.
I can divorce this idea of back and forth. Or,
Acquiesce this leash further.
Instead I choose to cut it.
So that I could let the updraft continue to carry me.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Acquiesce

  1. Elizabeth Helmich on said:

    This is amazing! ❤

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Taps and Ratamacues

A site for poetry and other stuff

Macclesfield Antiques

Not a dealer - downsizing and have some spare antiques

WJHL

Breaking news| Johnson City, TN | Kingsport, TN| Bristol, TN| Bristol, VA| Tri-Citiies Weather

The Müscleheaded Blog

"Nothing Exceeds Like Superfluous Jejunity "

