Alphabet Soup Minuscule

J.C. Scheff

The Third Suite


Your fingertips, like a felt tip pen,
Trace kindly around my mouth,
As if you were symbolizing the moment,
And I, your greatest emblem.

Life around us dark, thick and black like a dirty Labrador.
Yet, somewhere the mountains were rising nowhere.
And still, I heard the passing bell.
It cried along with the tangerine dawn,
Scattering the doves and robins from their dreams, their sleep.
I sing low in the third suite.
For the precious friends’ that are hid in death.

I am here in evening’s stillness,
Alone only with the lyrics of cicadas and airplanes,
I walked these three city blocks, looking for something—anything.
But, I am unsure of what exactly.
Maybe a shortcut home?
A smile or even October,
After a gentle rain.

Your thick fingertips,
Still working their way around my simple pink mouth,
Redirecting these lips of mine to yours–
Symbolizing the moment,
And I, your greatest emblem.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The Third Suite

  1. Yr tale well-told took me away, wistful. My favorite line was “For the precious friends that are hid in death”/ I’ll look forward to looking in again/ Thanx

Leave a Reply

poetics~cool out of the rafters

what goes in must come out!!

Surviving the Struggle to Success.

You've survived what you thought would destroy you. Now...get the fuck up, dust yourself off, and keep pushing forward...

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Taps and Ratamacues

A site for poetry and other stuff

Macclesfield Antiques

Not a dealer - downsizing and have some spare antiques

