Alphabet Soup Minuscule

J.C. Scheff

Sixteenth Note


Oh let me breathe you, poor Richard.

Let your fingers be the lyrics that tuck me in each night.

Your song, a whole note that plays over and over,

Like a wind chime on a porch.

Your voice soft and mellow, like the thrush in the pine.

Tell me your stories as I close my eyes.

Compose for me the words that you tuck beneath your pillow,

Forgiving gentle and delicate, like the cuticle on a baby’s finger.

Lay here with me, and let me beam as I glance at you,

Like a flashlight in the dark.

Watch as my eyes become heavy, with sleep and weakness.

Play for me your music, so that on the sixteenth note I might sleep,

And breathe you, feeling your texture upon my skin.

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “Sixteenth Note

  1. nice one…btw do u play any musical instrument?

  2. sated with song, fine imagery.

  3. quavers with emotion

  4. You have double embouchure…

  5. Pingback: Winterized – A Golden Saturday Poetry Post « Lyrical Anarchy

  6. Pingback: Do Not Disturb – A Romantic Monday Post | Edward Hotspur

  7. Pingback: A DANCE WITH SIN « hastywords

  8. Pingback: A Saturday Poetry Parade | Lyrical Anarchy

  9. Pingback: Poets Sing The Winter Blues | Lyrical Anarchy

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Taps and Ratamacues

A site for poetry and other stuff

Macclesfield Antiques

Not a dealer - downsizing and have some spare antiques

WJHL

Breaking news| Johnson City, TN | Kingsport, TN| Bristol, TN| Bristol, VA| Tri-Citiies Weather

The Müscleheaded Blog

"Nothing Exceeds Like Superfluous Jejunity "

