Alphabet Soup Minuscule

J.C. Scheff

Once Living


Image

Oh, I am but the rock that fits perfectly within the palm of your hand.

That rock that weathers and changes.

Am I the Gneiss, quartzite, flint, or Schist?

What do you see, as you look at my repetitive shape and my humdrum color?

Do you see a tool for hurt?

Or a gem for which you will collect and savor?

Maybe I am the rock you will skim upon the water,

Leaving me to sink and drown in an unfamiliar place?

Oh, I am more than the common rock that you held within your hand.

With each layer, a story you would never understand.

Unlike you, I am merely of substance formed without love.

Without human feelings of conscious.

The shell of the once living,

The once seeing and breathing.

I am the backbone to your existence,

For which you have walked upon and pissed on.

Despite this I am solid,

Examine my properties, and take note of my fractures and cleavage.

They are unchanged, but strong.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Once Living

  1. such a little shaping can transform that hardest substance into beauty

  2. vandevenbram on said:

    After watching Curiosity on Discovery Channel about how the first rock tool changed our entire civilization and the way we think, this is a really good extension on it! Beautifully written!

Leave a Reply

poetics~cool out of the rafters

what goes in must come out!!

Surviving the Struggle to Success.

You've survived what you thought would destroy you. Now...get the fuck up, dust yourself off, and keep pushing forward...

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

Taps and Ratamacues

A site for poetry and other stuff

Macclesfield Antiques

Not a dealer - downsizing and have some spare antiques

